Kyjov – Wine of the Czech Brethren

The area where the city now lies, was settled in prehistoric times. Evidenced by the archeological findings from Paleolithic, Neolithic, Eneolithic, Bronze Age and Iron, from the Roman period and the time of migration of peoples, and is supported by the Slavic population. In 1126 gave Prince Wenceslas Kyjov Olomouc in Olomouc Hradisko monastery and monks, thus fulfilling the wish to get site where she could grow grapes and grape production would cover its own consumption of fine drink. The wine is not only used for liturgical purposes, but it was normal to drink and was used as a medicine. In 1539 the city sold the monastery and the Moravian provincial governor Jan Kuna Kunštát Renaissance began building the city in which he continued Vaclav Bzenecký older. During his tenure, he became a royal town Kyjov were built three city gates and beautiful Renaissance town hall. Medieval wine was fine winery in Kyjov in the Middle Ages not only livelihood of its inhabitants, but also part of social life and bear fruit and the city. Kyjovští townspeople soon restored the vineyards destroyed during the Hussite wars and the main source of their earnings from the sale of wine was over the field in front bar. Wine orders, pouring wine for fourteen houses, was a source of regular income, which is often offset most pressing debts. Great awe and expand the winery enjoyed mainly among Czech brothers who bought the vineyard and the surrounding villages and the town houses built by their wine cellars. The development of wine did not break even in the Thirty Years War, which, unlike other parts of damaged vineyards in Moravia Kyjov slightly. For šenkování wine made in the 17th important privilege century burghers, were furnished houses in the square and adjacent streets. The rooms included šenkovním hall and dance room called where the tavern for a larger yield organized dances. The wine shows a gradual professionalization of the report that on 22 October 1686 provided wage lížníkům city council, who were engaged in running wine barrels in cellars and in 1899 was vytahováním.V in Kyjov vineyard planted on the American model footstool. The municipality provided a foundation for his plot on Újezd ​​benefice and parish land in broken lines. In the 30th years following century village leased vineyard of the earth's local school.

The cellar alley


Nětčice Cellars

The first wine was building a mansion in Nětčicích cellar, its capacity for more than 4,000 wines called big buckets. Date of entrance, while states such as year of construction as the year 1780, for the storage of wine, but rather served during the turn of the 18th and 19 century. The cellar was originally built as a warehouse for potatoes Kyjov distillery, served some time as ledovna. Stylish massive scale mill was later built over the cellar. The most famous owner of the cellar was Kyjov folklorist tradition and restorer Slovácké years Joey Sedlar. The importance of the cellar for a social life in the city described in the book, Dr. 33 lives. Dunder: "The old cellar under the Teresian Jančová younger pub and later in 1896 became an important cultural phenomenon. I once compared it to a cellar Jozka Sedlář Café Slavia Prague and in fact it was no exaggeration. She passed this way many writers and poets, painters and musicians, including a myriad of actors on a String Theatre staff and the entire crew, led by FAMU Lubomir Leipzig. In fifty years, ethnographers have replaced all of what they Moravia was born and all the famous bandmaster. Almost every important foreigners who arrived in Kyjov, visited Jožkův cellar, and chronicles the three entries are in English, German, French, Spanish, Polish, Finnish and even in Japanese. For all visitors grasped the importance of basement Sedlářová Nepil writer Francis: The whole night we tasted good and even better wine. God, it was useful now! As we have expanded the horizon! "From the beginning of the 19th century were added along the road towards the pub next Jančová cellars. Among the several mills in the cellars of modern day is the old brick mill with the granary podstřeší, the flat wooden ceiling beams underpin robust. Ancient and rich history of the last two vaults are decorated in an alley. Two hundred years old, two-room Poláškův cellar is equipped with a stone arch, forming a narrow and almost square hall. The newly built mill with sitting on the floor and excellent wine lovers are waiting for a sparkling beverage. Lisovna Šimečková neighboring cellar of 1882 was the beginning of the 20th century converted to housing. Výminek served as a dwelling for the poorer citizens of the city. In 1984 he was restored mill in the cellar, the current version follows the original appearance of the building.

Boršov Cellars

Even thirty years ago became boršovské natural cellars with brick on the road to předsklepím Bohuslavice. After expansion of the road had to retreat, remained one-sided row boršovskou colonies cellars in exports. But it is not any old cellars, originated mostly from the escape of long underground tunnels leading to the road to Bukovany. A large cellar was zakvelbením Forman basement, owner of the parcel which appeared in the repair of a family house was built over a deep cellar and two-storey brick mill in the middle colonies, on whose door frame is a year marked the 1748th A unique architectural design dome mill boasts nadsklepní house whose facade decorated with colorful carving a niche in the St. Lawrence grows in the garden behind a wooden fence. The economic structures in South Moravia rarely find houses, whose double nave is topped by a brick vault in the Czech pancake. Flat dome like crown representation of space in the urban environment was used in the baroque and early classical architecture, the country has entered the 1st half of the 19th century. The assumption that the mill building, the brick arch arises from the massive stone walls, can be dated to this period, confirmed by the fact that the building is drawn in the mapping from the reign of Maria Theresa. Antiquity of unique space enhances the cellar itself. Crooked kamenocihelné kvelbení ending with earthen floor, short corridor, where the hatch is located in the floor covering mysterious hideout. And in the basement there is an ancient and old-world manners and principles. One of the owners of this charming rustic buildings and underground tunnels, Mr. Selucká me a glass of delicious "najburku" nostalgia without talking about the end of its wine bars, "vineyard is far away and my feet no longer serves, last year I harvested grapes last. Now in the spring, before they turn green shrubs, with leave to bring under vineyards and vineyard grubbing plants do the last service. "

The Cellars Šištótě

The first building wine cellars in the street were built in the 18th century AD, most of the entrances to the mills, however, indicates a later date. Most of them ground cellars and mills sitting in the front garden. On the front porch decorated with wall attracts folk ornaments, newer residential buildings have floor or attic. Mr. Zavrtálka Slovácká shack stands on the site krechtu the vegetables from the 18th century, the wine cellar was rebuilt in the 20th MD of the last century. Švarc. Basement built his patients, who owed him for treatment - and exported peasants digging dirt, masons kvelbili new premises and together with other borrowers and Besednice built up a mill. Together we built a corridor so long that the mouth of the cellar to the nearby quiet street. The facade of red brick mill, completed in 1926, crowned with carved wooden shield.
In the cellar for Peter, which offers wine tasting and sales from several growers Kyjovsko was established in 2006 a permanent wine exhibition. In the basement of an authentic environment you can explore the old wine tools, containers, work attire winemakers. The museum exhibition also documents the history of viticulture in Kyjov or description and characteristics of individual varieties. The oldest colony outbuildings distributed at the former shooting range is originally tithe cellar, documented in 1761. Access to a wide Besednice and brick facade mimics kvelbeného underground cellars in Vrbice. The stone front wall openings and pointed arches and lining are a tribute to her mother Mrs. Jezkova owner of the cellar, which the village guard comes under the hill.

Points of interest

Pile Tradition Mountains and the vintage Kyjov was first reported in the 19 century, when it was accompanied by a blessing ceremony, sprinkling and okuřováním mountains, was announced early vintage fire from rifles. Festive and ceremonial driving of the mountain took place in late August or early September when the grapes begin to ripen. Vinohradní watchers - Hotař picked nine flowers, which then carried into the church to sanctify. The flowers made a few bouquets that hung on high poles and built the vineyards at the top to indicate that the mountain is taken aback. Construction of the first cellars in the town was connected not only with beer, but also the need to improve the quality of wine and wine development of the economy. The original mills were usually vaults Kyjov storey, storey mill are more modern origin.

Where you can taste wine

WINE CELLAR AT PETRA In ŠIŠTÓTĚ - Peter Ivičič, tel. 605 123 318,
POLÁŠEK JOSEPH - Under the vineyards, tel. 602 566 307,
Miroslav JeŽek - tel.776 611 374

The festivities associated with wine

Josefská feasts (March)
Moravian Slovakia Year (oldest folk festival in CR 2007 and then every four years)
Martin's Feast (November)
  • 2/25/2019
    Jubileum oslaví FOR BIKES s osob...

    Tři dny od 29. do 31. března 2019 budou v pražských Letňanech vyhra...

    Do práce na kole - Do Brna míří ...

    ​Už posedmé připravuje Nadace Partnerství měsíc plný jízdy na kole,...

    all news
  • May 2021
    all events